blog-banner

hello, I'm

Elaine Thomas

Elaine Thomas
Director of The mentoring Lab, Elaine has over 15 years of experience in teaching, employment, mentoring, supporting learning and career progression. Elaine is the Opogo community expert working with young people and adults to prevent underachievement in their learning or careers.
Find me on:

Mentoring

mentoring cartoon-1

Elaine Thomas

Sunday, 6 October 2019

How to structure your mentoring sessions

Mentoring

mentor highlight

Elaine Thomas

Friday, 16 August 2019

Mentoring and teaching hard to reach students

Mentoring

mentoring cork

Elaine Thomas

Saturday, 16 March 2019

5 ways to be a better mentor

Safeguarding

white classroom-1

Elaine Thomas

Saturday, 2 March 2019

Safeguarding students against substance abuse

Education

Discussion

Elaine Thomas

Saturday, 9 February 2019

3 Ways to Earn the Trust of Disruptive Students

Education

feet grafitti-1

Elaine Thomas

Saturday, 2 February 2019

How we address youth culture and violence in schools

Education

white cogs-1

Elaine Thomas

Friday, 25 January 2019

Trauma- informed classroom tips and strategies

Education

letters out of head-1

Elaine Thomas

Friday, 18 January 2019

Trauma-informed care and why it matters

Education

Smiley amongst sad

Elaine Thomas

Friday, 11 January 2019

Understanding the differences in student culture

coloured arrows

Elaine Thomas

Wednesday, 19 December 2018

Tips to help students learn in the classroom

Teacher development

coloured rope

Elaine Thomas

Monday, 17 December 2018

How your teaching style can make a difference

Teacher

television

Elaine Thomas

Sunday, 16 December 2018

The teacher holiday entertainment guide

Teacher

pushing walls

Elaine Thomas

Saturday, 1 December 2018

How can you tell if a student is ready to change?

Education

TA Smiling

Elaine Thomas

Friday, 9 November 2018

How to utilise the mentors in your school

Education

Gang Shadow

Elaine Thomas

Thursday, 8 November 2018

How to accept & support today's youth culture

Education

young boy mentored

Elaine Thomas

Monday, 5 November 2018

Used and not Consulted

Teacher development

teacher student help

Elaine Thomas

Friday, 26 October 2018

Loco Parentis

Teacher development

students microphone

Elaine Thomas

Wednesday, 17 October 2018

X-Factor Mentoring

Education

classroom desks-1

Elaine Thomas

Thursday, 11 October 2018

But I’m not black

Wellbeing

teacher student grin

Elaine Thomas

Friday, 5 October 2018

Be your unique self!

#inspirationmonday

children on tablets

Elaine Thomas

Monday, 24 September 2018

What is the point of school?

#developmenttuesday

teacher and class at table

Elaine Thomas

Tuesday, 11 September 2018

Building relationships through 'The Dance'

#developmenttuesday

teacher older lesson

Elaine Thomas

Tuesday, 7 August 2018

Mentoring, teaching and transactional analysis

Opogo is a community platform designed to help schools attract and retain the talent that’s right for them. Our social hub is packed with rich content from our community experts. And through our ever-evolving Smart Match technology, teachers can be booked for work simply and quickly.

Sign up for FREE

opogo-app-highres2