blog-banner

hello, I'm

Simi Rai

Simi Rai
Over 5 years of experience in educational settings throughout London, Madrid and Barcelona. Whilst studying English Literature and Language at King’s College London and the University of North Carolina, she fell in love with her subject - both the study of literature and craft of writing. After graduating, she completed the Leadership Development Programme with Teach First, whose mission is to provide equality through education, and attained her PGCE in Secondary English at Canterbury Christ Church University. She was then appointed as Deputy Head of English at one of the highest performing schools in England in a London inner-city academy. Following this, she completed her Leadership and Management MA at University College London (Institute of Education) and became the director of an English Language company based in Barcelona. Simi is our English Literature and Language Expert.

Teacher development

bulb light-2

Simi Rai

Sunday, 14 April 2019

Avoid these 5 common errors in your job applications

Teacher development

to do marking-1

Simi Rai

Thursday, 4 April 2019

6 marking workload tips for educators

Teacher development

poetry-1

Simi Rai

Thursday, 21 March 2019

5 ways to teach poetry in the classroom

Education

Comic Relief

Simi Rai

Thursday, 7 March 2019

10 fun ways to raise money for Red Nose Day in school

Teacher development

questions-1

Simi Rai

Tuesday, 5 March 2019

Effective classroom language: do’s and don’ts

Classroom success

calm-1

Simi Rai

Friday, 1 March 2019

10 great ideas for your classroom ‘calm-down’ kit

Teacher development

organisation

Simi Rai

Saturday, 23 February 2019

Life hacks for getting organised

Teacher development

NQT 1-1

Simi Rai

Thursday, 14 February 2019

What I wish I knew about teaching English as a new teacher

Teacher development

Leadership blackbaord-1

Simi Rai

Wednesday, 6 February 2019

The Language of Leadership

Student behaviour

IL

Simi Rai

Monday, 28 January 2019

How to set up norms for independent learning

Teacher development

calendar pins

Simi Rai

Tuesday, 22 January 2019

Best tricks to keep busy teachers organised

Teacher development

resumes-1

Simi Rai

Sunday, 20 January 2019

How to make your teacher resume stand out

Teacher development

Success typewriter

Simi Rai

Sunday, 13 January 2019

5 Cover Letter Writing Tips for Teachers

Teacher development

red flying arrow-1

Simi Rai

Monday, 24 December 2018

Mentoring your Mentee effectively

books and cup

Simi Rai

Saturday, 15 December 2018

5 ways to motivate reluctant readers

Teacher development

Untitled design (22)

Simi Rai

Monday, 3 December 2018

Top tips for marking success!

Teacher

travel abroad-1

Simi Rai

Friday, 30 November 2018

Thinking about teaching abroad? What you need to know!

Teacher development

teacher training

Simi Rai

Saturday, 24 November 2018

Taking the Middle Leadership Leap

Education

happy students reading-1

Simi Rai

Saturday, 17 November 2018

The importance of depth not breadth

Education

discussion

Simi Rai

Sunday, 11 November 2018

How to effectively use assessment in and out of the classroom

Teacher development

student writing

Simi Rai

Wednesday, 7 November 2018

How to teach your pupils to plan a successful essay

Education

shakespeare-1

Simi Rai

Monday, 22 October 2018

Teaching Shakespeare in KS3

Teacher development

teacher folder

Simi Rai

Friday, 19 October 2018

Minimalist planning – less is more!

Teacher development

Teacher smiling in class

Simi Rai

Tuesday, 2 October 2018

5 ways to be an efficient teacher

Teacher development

Marking

Simi Rai

Friday, 28 September 2018

How to become an Expert Examiner in English

#developmenttuesday

wavy library

Simi Rai

Tuesday, 18 September 2018

How to brush up on your subject knowledge

Teacher development

students talking at desks

Simi Rai

Thursday, 13 September 2018

How to build a rapport with your pupils

#inspirationmonday

black glasses

Simi Rai

Monday, 3 September 2018

7 Back to School Teacher Hacks

Teacher development

students crowded reading

Simi Rai

Tuesday, 21 August 2018

5 steps for successful mixed-ability teaching

wellnesswednesday

teacher stress

Simi Rai

Wednesday, 8 August 2018

5 Strategies to prevent teacher burnout

Opogo is a community platform designed to help schools attract and retain the talent that’s right for them. Our social hub is packed with rich content from our community experts. And through our ever-evolving Smart Match technology, teachers can be booked for work simply and quickly.

Sign up for FREE

opogo-app-highres2